Florida Marijuana Laws
You are probably familiar with how many states have decriminalized marijuana. In some states, for example, it’s legal for adults to possess less than an ounce of marijuana. So, what are the laws in Florida? Is it still illegal to possess marijuana or is the state loosening up its marijuana possession laws?
Is Weed Legal in Florida?
Florida is NOT one of the states that has decriminalized its marijuana possession laws; it’s still very much illegal to possess, sell, give away, distribute, or grow marijuana in Florida. One of the reasons why the state is so strict about its marijuana laws is because of the fact that Florida has a serious drug trafficking concern.
Texas and Florida have a major problem with drugs being trafficked into the states and as a result, both states have some of the harshest drug laws in the nation.
Marijuana Penalties in Florida
The penalties for marijuana in Florida are as follows.
Possession of Marijuana
- Possession of 20 grams or less is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and by a fine not to exceed $1,000.
- Possession of more than 20 grams to 25 pounds is a felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine not to exceed $5,000.
- Possessing less than 25 plants is a felony, punishable by up to 15 years in prison and by a fine not to exceed $10,000.
Giving Away Marijuana
- Giving away 25 grams or less without receiving payment is a misdemeanor, punishable by one year in jail and up to a $1,000 fine.
- Selling 25 pounds or less is a felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine not to exceed $5,000.
Possessing drug paraphernalia is also a crime in Florida. If you’re caught with drug paraphernalia, you are guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree, which is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine not to exceed $1,000.
If you or someone you love is facing marijuana charges, contact The Law Offices of Jason K.S. Porter, P.A. for a free consultation. **Consultation fees may apply to family law consultations.