Driving While License Suspended in Florida
Jacksonville DUI Lawyer Can Fight for You!
Driving while your license is suspended could lead to serious penalties, however, in many situations, the individual may be completely unaware of the suspension of their license. For this reason, it is extremely important to speak with a Jacksonville DUI attorney if you have recently been arrested for driving with a suspended license. By working with a knowledgeable lawyer, you will be able to address the situation to determine the best course of action – working together to help protect your driving privileges.
Many people make the mistake of believing that being charged with driving with the possession of a suspended license is simply going to be another traffic ticket. This, however, is a mistake as this is considered to be a criminal offense and you could be made to serve jail time and pay hefty fines. In addition, because it is a crime, if you are convicted you will have a permanent criminal record. This record may make it difficult to find gainful employment, or to live in the apartment or house of your choice amongst other things. A skilled attorney may be able to obtain alternative sentencing for you and in some cases it is possible to lessen the charges or get them dropped.
Penalties for DWLS
Driving while license suspended (DWLS) is a separate criminal charge which can bring severe criminal penalties to the convicted. In the state of Florida, this crime is defined under Florida Statutes §322.34(2012). Under this law, it is considered a criminal offense to drive on state roadways with a license that has been canceled, suspended or revoked. Should the defendant knowingly commit this crime, they will be facing a second degree misdemeanor for a first time conviction. This will include penalties such as the following:
- Monetary fine of $500; and
- Imprisonment for 60 days
For a second conviction, it will be considered a first degree misdemeanor; this will carry penalties that include imprisonment that does not exceed one year along with a $1,000 fine. For a third or subsequent conviction, this will be considered a third degree felony and be penalized with a maximum five years of imprisonment and a monetary fine of $5,000.
Begin Building Your Defense with Us on Your Side
To successfully convict, the prosecution must prove that you were not only driving on a suspended license but that you were fully aware that your license was suspended at the time you were pulled over. In some cases, the individual was never notified about the suspension of his or her license and an attorney can utilize this to the client's benefit.
Without skilled legal defense at your side, you could lose your license for up to one year. We understand how important your driving privileges are to you and will do everything in our power to preserve them. Walking into the court room without an experienced attorney by your side could prove costly – we will utilize our skill and experience to assist you during this difficult time.
If you call our Jacksonville DUI lawyer at (904) 701-0591 today, we can review your case free of charge.
A Guided, Hands-On Approach
Step-by-Step Guidance for Any Legal Matter
A Compassionate Team
Your Story Matters - We're Here to Listen
Approximately 100 Years of Combined Legal Experience On Your Side
Top-Rated Ethics & Legal Skill – AV Preeminent® Rating
Trusted & Recommended
Trusted by the Media & Recommended by Our Clients
Top-Rated Personal Injury, DUI, & Criminal Defense Lawyer