Jacksonville Out-of-State DUI Lawyer
Arrested while visiting? Call Today - (904) 701-0591
Florida is a popular vacation spot due to its beautiful weather and world-famous
beaches. Many people enjoy taking in the sights, relaxing on the beach,
and enjoying a cocktail or two during their stay. Unfortunately, many
people’s vacations are soured with an arrest for
driving under the influence (DUI). If you have been charged with DUI while visiting Florida, it is vital
you retain the services of a powerful Jacksonville DUI lawyer as soon
as possible to protect yourself against serious criminal consequences.
At the Law Offices of Jason K.S. Porter, P.A., our skilled attorneys have
more than 90 years of combined experience and can use their expertise
to minimize your chances of conviction.
Countless clients have trusted our firm to handle their cases for the following reasons:
Call (904) 701-0591
today to discuss your situation with a skilled legal professional.
Can a DUI Charge Follow Me to My Home State?
Even if you receive a DUI outside of your home state, you could still face
a number of serious consequences such as expensive fines, a suspension
of your driver’s license, and a criminal conviction on your record.
This is because the states have created a few different pacts that allow
penalties for certain convictions to transfer between states. These interstate
agreements, known as the Non-Resident Violators Compact (NRVC) and the
Driver’s License Compact (DLC), allow the states to communicate
with each other regarding a person’s driving history and prosecute
crimes committed by out-of-state visitors.
For example, if you were arrested for DUI in Florida but failed to your
charges, the state of Florida could alert your home state and have your
driver’s license suspended until the DUI charge is handled. Any
accusations you may incur in one state will likely follow you home, as
long as your home state is one of the 44 NRVC member states. Even if your
state is not a member, you could still face extradition back to Florida.
Powerful Defense Working For You
If you have been charged with DUI, your license will be suspended for a
minimum of six months. You may contest your license suspension by scheduling an
administrative license suspension hearing with the DHSMV within 10 days of your arrest. It is imperative you act
quickly to schedule this hearing as soon as possible and enlist the services
of a powerful legal team to maximize your chances of success. If you do
not schedule a hearing in time or lose your hearing, your license will
be suspended in your home state.
At the Law Offices of Jason K.S. Porter, P.A., our Jacksonville DUI attorneys
understand the gravity of your situation and can provide the results-driven
advocacy you need during this difficult time. Upon a detailed examination
of your specific situation, our firm can craft a customized legal strategy
that maximizes your chances of securing a dismissal or reduction of your
charges. Let us help you put your out-of-state DUI charge behind you so
you can get back to your life as smoothly as possible.
Contact us online or
schedule a free one-hour consultation today to review your legal options.