Driving While License Suspended in Florida
Jacksonville DUI Lawyer Can Fight for You!
Driving while your license is suspended could lead to serious penalties,
however, in many situations, the individual may be completely unaware
of the suspension of their license. For this reason, it is extremely important
to speak with a Jacksonville DUI attorney if you have recently been arrested
for driving with a suspended license. By working with a knowledgeable
lawyer, you will be able to address the situation to determine the best
course of action – working together to help protect your driving
Many people make the mistake of believing that being charged with driving
with the possession of a suspended license is simply going to be another
traffic ticket. This, however, is a mistake as this is considered to be a criminal offense
and you could be made to serve jail time and pay hefty fines. In addition,
because it is a crime, if you are convicted you will have a permanent
criminal record. This record may make it difficult to find gainful employment,
or to live in the apartment or house of your choice amongst other things.
A skilled attorney may be able to obtain alternative sentencing for you
and in some cases it is possible to lessen the charges or get them dropped.
Penalties for DWLS
Driving while license suspended (DWLS) is a separate
criminal charge which can bring severe criminal penalties to the convicted. In the state
of Florida, this crime is defined under
Florida Statutes §322.34 (2012). Under this law, it is considered a criminal offense to drive on
state roadways with a license that has been canceled, suspended or revoked.
Should the defendant knowingly commit this crime, they will be facing
a second degree misdemeanor for a first time conviction. This will include
penalties such as the following:
- Monetary fine of $500; and
- Imprisonment for 60 days
For a second conviction, it will be considered a first degree misdemeanor;
this will carry penalties that include imprisonment that does not exceed
one year along with a $1,000 fine. For a third or subsequent conviction,
this will be considered a third degree felony and be penalized with a
maximum five years of imprisonment and a monetary fine of $5,000.
Begin Building Your Defense With Us On Your Side
To successfully convict, the prosecution must prove that you were not only
driving on a suspended license but that you were fully aware that your
license was suspended at the time you were pulled over. In some cases,
the individual was never notified about the suspension of his or her license
and an attorney can utilize this to the client's benefit.
Without skilled legal defense at your side, you could lose your license
for up to one year. We understand how important your driving privileges
are to you and will do everything in our power to preserve them. Walking
into the court room without an experienced attorney by your side could
prove costly – we will utilize our skill and experience to assist
you during this difficult time.
call our Jacksonville DUI lawyer today, we can review your case free of charge.